New Blog Layout!


Hey guys!  It’s been a while since I posted.  And the last post was quite the bombshell.  I guess I should start out by saying that I’m still alive.  If that wasn’t evident.  Since my last post, life appears to be looking up.  I want to remind those of you reading that I was not writing from a place of depression last time.  Anyways, so the deal with life looking up now is money.  Some of you may remember, back before the summer semester started, I intended on taking classes.  However, due to the incompetency of my school, I was unable to attend classes because the financial aid department did not get my loans figured out in time.  Well, at the time I wrote my last blog post, I was experiencing the exact same problem.  I was worried that my loans would not go through.  This time, I had enough grants to pay for classes, but I take loans to help with the cost of living.  Some people are against this, I however, am not.  I still consider it investing in my future because I have a better chance of keeping the GPA up if I’m not working.  Higher GPA equals the ability to get into a better university, which equals a better opportunity to find a good job when I’m done with school.  If I get a good job once I’m done with school, I can have these loans paid back in no time.  [I ramble too much]

I originally planned on typing a long, thought out blog tonight, however, it’s already 1:35a.m.  I spent too much time tonight making my banner and then making the social networking picture at the top.  So, I guess I will keep tonight’s blog short.  I just realized how much social networking goes on.  And how hard it becomes to keep up with it all.  I want to post videos on YouTube as often as possible, but I want to blog as often as possible, but I want to work on my photography, but I want to watch more movies, but I want to play video games, but there are only 24 hours in a day!  The internet has grown into this beast of a machine that many of us try to keep up with and only fail.  Others, think that those of us who try to stay involved in our social networks actually have no life and are failing at the main directive of life.  Why is it that internet socializing is not equal to in person socializing?  Why is a phone call more sufficient than a text message?  Why is a letter more personal than an e-mail?  These questions boggle my mind.  For 15 years, I’ve been attached to the internet.  The internet has helped me over all of these years, stay closer to friends and family who are distant than I ever would have had an opportunity to without the internet.  The internet has helped me make friends, who at times, seem to care about me more than the friends I’ve made in real life.  So, why the divide?  Who says that one is more important than the other?  Don’t get me wrong.  I know a computer monitor isn’t going to keep you warm at night.  I know that there is still great significance in personal relationships outside of the computer.  But why can’t they be mutually beneficial?

Today, I got a Twitter response from Danielle Fishel.  You may remember her as Topanga from the nineties sitcom Boy Meets World.  Prior to the internet, there’s no way she would have ever directed words towards me.  They didn’t even mean anything really, but it’s exciting to think that for 5 seconds, you had the attention of someone you’ve had a crush on for most of your life.  So, on Facebook, I jokingly put up a status saying “Just got a Twitter @ reply from Danielle Fishel aka Topanga from Boy Meets World. Life = Complete.”  Several of my friends liked my status, as I’m sure they thought it was cool.  But then, I was met by one of these people who don’t see the value in both, who I ought to call a hypocrite, saying

“seriously…””GET OUT OF THE HOUSE MAN!!!!!!”

What the hell???  Way to ruin my fun.

Well, that’s my rant for the night.  If it isn’t obvious, I’m on the internet, all over the place.  Links to my Facebook and Twitter are over to the right, somewhere.  Come say “hi” sometime.  And let me know what you think of my new banner.  Too geeky?  Too Batman-y?  Too “emo”?  Let me know what you think so I can take it into advisement.

Alright everyone.  I’m going to try to post on here a little more frequently, like I used to.  I know a lot of people don’t even check this anymore, so hopefully the word gets out that I’m back.  I miss typing.  It’s a good therapy, even if I’m not talking about anything that’s bothering me.  I just like typing and knowing that my friends are out there keeping up with me when they have a chance.  Because we’re all busy these days.  Sometimes, unfortunately, stuff like this is easier to keep up with than actual conversations because you can do it on your time, whether it’s 1 in the afternoon or 1 in the morning.

As always, thanks for coming by.  Leave your opinions down below, or wherever they put the comment box. o_O

Oh, and as always…

Don’t Forget to be Awesome!

P.S.
If you haven’t liked my Facebook fan page, it’s real easy now!  Go to the bottom of my blog page and you should see a Facebook window showing my fan page.  Just click “like” and you’re done!  Easy-peezy.

About houseofgeekdom

Nothing for now...

Leave a Reply

