Blackhole


Tonight I have nothing pleasant to report.  No good thoughts.  Another night of feeling like I’m being ripped in half from the inside.  So, instead I’ll show my little rant.  Facebook has had this “flag” circulating around and after seeing it one too many times, I felt I had to respond to it.  So here’s that:
Donny House: Oh, the open bigotry in our country. It’s truly laughable. If a Catholic church or a Jewish synagogue were being built in the same place, no one would bat an eye. Since moving to DC, I’ve been around the most diverse people I’ve ever know…n. I’ve actually had the opportunity to work along side and train many people of Muslim religion. And they were the nicest, most respectful people I’ve ever known. One group of idiots should not be allowed to define a culture. It honestly makes me sick to see how “OK” this is in the eyes of so many Americans. This country was built on the backs of different cultures and religions. But because the majority of those people were caucasion, we forget the differences that existed. The Irish were ostracized by many Protestant Americans when they came to America for being Catholic. Yet now, everyone wants to be Irish, at least some days. It’s a ridiculous cycle that will continue for the rest of our lifetimes because people will continue to single others out for their beliefs. There will never be peace because we make it so acceptable. Furthermore, the general disregard for the Muslim people in our country only further proves that the terrorist group that attacked us 9 years ago was right. I am in no way condoning their tactics, or what they did to us, I am a patriot and I believe in the men and women who protect our country, but sometimes I think our values have fallen too far.

“It is for us, the living, rather to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they have, thus far, so nobly carried on. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us – that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they here gave the last full measure of devotion – that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain; that this nation shall have a new birth of freedom; and that this government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.” — Abraham Lincoln

Now that I got that out of the way.

It’s easy to forget how quickly a weekend is over when you don’t work full time.  Now that I’m back to full time after 9 months without it, my first weekend off flew by me.  Already back to work and I am definitely not recharged.  It doesn’t help that my insomnia chose to return last week, but man.  I think a large part of it has to do with the 3rd shift schedule.  I work Monday-Friday, but I don’t actually get off until 7am Saturday morning.  So, that pretty much leaves me with Saturday night and Sunday for “the weekend”.

Psh.  Ranting tonight doesn’t seem to be relieving the pressure in my chest so I’m just gonna kill it here.  I’ll go make other attempts at calming myself.  I miss having friends who stay up all night!  My phone has been silent for over an hour now!

About houseofgeekdom

Nothing for now...

Leave a Reply

